Sign from the pastby Vorona Photography
ABOUT THE ART
In its time, Steve's Gay '90s was all the rage in Tacoma. It was opened in 1950 by Steve Pease and John Stanley, offering customers fine food, with lunch for a $1. There was evening entertainment, dancing, can-can girls, an organ, cable cars as booths, and an Opera House. Steve's closed in 1977, but its iconic sign has remained with various names over the years.